Go to page content
Hero image

Delete your personal data from TikTok today

Get started by adding your details so that TikTok can confirm your identity, then check your email to send them a deletion request for free.

Why should I delete my data from TikTok?

You should delete your data from TikTok because the personal data that they have about you is often sensitive, and sold on to third parties. Remember, a deletion request will delete everything that TikTok knows about you, including your account.

As well as invading your privacy, this may also have real-world impacts on your life, like what financial options are available to you or affecting your career.

Personal data that social media companies typically store:

  • Name and address
  • Tastes and habits
  • Contact details
  • Cookies & IP address
  • Economic, social and cultural information

TikTok goes further than this. According to their privacy policy, it also collects the 'content' of your messages and an abnormal amount of information from devices to its computers. In short, your age, relationship status, location and contacts is only the start.

There are other additional surveillance concerns about TikTok's independence, as it's owned by ByteDance, a company based in China. However, it must be noted that these are questionable and that TikTok has tried to distance itself from these claims.

The type of personal data stored and collected by social media is much more sensitive than first appears. If you want to delete it, send them a deletion request.

What's that?

A deletion request is a written request that you send to a company asking them to remove your personal data from their records. By law, they have to do this within 30 days.

How do I tell TikTok to delete my personal data?

The easiest way to delete your information is by sending a request through Rightly. Just press 'get started' above, fill in your details for them to identify you and send your deletion request.

Bear in mind that by sending a deletion request, you are telling TikTok to delete all of the information they have about you, including your account.

How long until TikTok responds to my request?

After the company has received your request, they have to reply in full within 30 days, or give a valid reason for asking for an extension. This normally happens if you’ve got lots of data for them to go through.

If this happens, our support team is here to help.

What if they refuse?

Don't worry, they have to delete your data by law.

You can ask any organisation to delete your personal data, thanks to your ‘right to erasure’ under GDPR law. GDPR applies in the UK and EU.

Whether you want to delete your data from a retailer, social media, or even your local council, you can. It’s yours after all.

Why Rightly?

We’re free because our mission is to make data fairer, for everyone.

We don't use consumer data for commercial purposes, which means we'll never, ever sell your data. It also means that there are no adverts or hidden costs.

Keeping your data safe

Send your request in under two minutes

It's simple and completely free

GET STARTED